The Federal Territory of Labuan is a federal territory of Malaysia, which comprises Labuan Island and six smaller islands. It is located off the coast of the state of Sabah in East Malaysia. It is populated by about 96,800 inhabitants and its capital is Victoria.

Malaysia’s official currency is the Ringgit (MYR) and its official language is Malay, although English is widely spoken.

The island is administered by the federal government through the Ministry of Federal Territories. Labuan Corporation is the municipal government for the island and is headed by a chairman who is in charge of the development and administration of the island.

Labuan has one representative in each of the Lower and Upper Houses of Federal Parliament. Usually, the chairman of the Labuan corporation is a current member of the Labuan parliament .

Labuan is an offshore support hub for deepwater oil and gas activities in the region, as well as a tourist destination and an international financial center.

It is also a free trade zone with an export-oriented economy, mainly exporting crude oil, methanol, HBI, gas, flour, animal feed, sea products and ceramic tiles, which are exported to mainland Malaysia or overseas.

Raw materials, parts and equipment for industrial uses well as consumer products are imported.

Labuan is also a reputable financial center (Labuan International Business and Financial Centre, LIBFC), with more than 300 licensed financial institutions including major leading banks.

Labuan LIBFC is mainly comprised of holding companies, captive insurance, Shariah-compliant Islamic Finance structures, public and private funds and wealth management.

At Flag Theory, we’re here to help you during every step of your internationalization and structuring plans, and are constantly researching the best global locations to increase your privacy, freedom and wealth.

Below, you can find why and how to set up a company and do business in Labuan, its banking and investment options and how to get residency and eventually citizenship in this Malaysian territory.